https://italjmed.org/index.php/ijm/issue/feed Italian Journal of Medicine 2019-11-11T20:41:17+01:00 Paola Granata paola.granata@pagepress.org Open Journal Systems <p>The <strong>Italian Journal of Medicine (ITJM)</strong> is the official journal of FADOI, the Federation of Associations of Hospital Doctors on Internal Medicine and focus to describe the complex and variable situations confronted by Internists in daily practice. ITJM aims to promote excellence in the practice of internal medicine in hospitals and to disseminate the results of clinical research in internal medicine departments. The journal also contributes to the updating of hospital internists on general topics concerning public health, including ethical, legal, economical and health policy issues. The <strong>Italian Journal of Medicine (ITJM)</strong> is a quarterly peer-reviewed journal aiming to publish highest-quality material covering original basic and clinical research on all aspects of internal medicine. The Journal includes original clinical research papers, reviews, case reports and specific sections dedicated to clinical pharmacology, chronic diseases, health management. The Italian Journal of Medicine is currently indexed in <a title="Scopus" href="https://www.scopus.com/sourceid/19600165300?origin=sbrowse" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Scopus</a> and <a title="DOAJ" href="https://doaj.org/toc/1877-9352" target="_blank" rel="noopener">DOAJ</a> since September 2009.</p> <p>This journal does not apply the article processing charge&nbsp;to Authors as it is supported by institutional funds.</p> https://italjmed.org/index.php/ijm/article/view/1212 An interesting case of atypical venous thrombosis with low red blood cells 2019-10-31T17:59:42+01:00 Giuseppe Chiariello pippochiariello@alice.it Raimondo Cavallaro raimondo.cavallaro@gmail.com Giuseppe Covetti giucov@alice.it Maria Carla Attilia Pisano marapisano@libero.it Antonella Schettini antonella.schettini@aocardarelli.it Tiziana D'Aniello daniellotiziana@libero.it Rossella Nappo rosa.nappo@hotmail.it Emilio Aliberti ealiberti@hotmail.co.uk Arcangelo Iannuzzi arcangelo.iannuzzi@aocardarelli.it <p>Sex: F Age: 65 years. Recent abdominal colic. Petechial-like manifestations with painful discolored skin lesions (suggestive of dermal veins thromboses) on the chest and abdomen. Blood levels of glucose, electrolytes, amylase, lipase, total protein, renal-function tests, the prothrombin time, the international normalized ratio, the partial-thromboplastin time and albumin were normal. Laboratory testing revealed hemolytic anemia: Red cells 2.94 x10^6/UL; Haemoglobin 8.9 g/dl; Lactate dehydrogenase 950 IU/L. Computed tomography (CT) of the abdomen and pelvis performed after the administration of intravenous contrast material, revealed a central filling defect in the hepatic veins and their branches that was compatible with acute thrombosis of the hepatic veins and their branches. It was suspected paroxysmal nocturnal haemoglobinuria for which flow cytometric analysis was requested.</p> 2019-10-31T15:57:03+01:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://italjmed.org/index.php/ijm/article/view/itjm.2019.1189 Comparison of aeroallergen sensitisation patterns in the United States and Europe 2019-11-11T20:41:16+01:00 Luca Conti lucaconti91@gmail.com Kelly Gatt kellygatt92@gmail.com Christopher Zammit christopherzammit@hotmail.com Stephen Montefort stevemontefort@gmail.com David Bilocca dbilocca@yahoo.com <p>The global prevalence of allergic diseases have increased considerably and are a major socio-economic burden. Asthma is a complex disease and understanding asthma phenotypes and endotypes could eventually lead to individualised management, and offer better symptom control and quality of life. In this review, we first summarise the pathogenesis of atopic asthma and delve into the assessment of sensitisation to aeroallergens through skin prick testing and serological testing with total and specific immunoglobulin E testing. We will then analyse the distribution of aeroallergen sensitisation patterns in the United States and Europe and its effect on the population. This review gives a comprehensive overview on atopy and it compares the prevalence and effect of atopy within various regions of both continents using data from large multicentre studies. We will conclude this review by discussing the efficacy of add-on treatments in the most prevalent severe asthma phenotypes and endotypes.</p> 2019-09-09T14:35:51+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://italjmed.org/index.php/ijm/article/view/itjm.2019.1175 Gender differences in chronic obstructive pulmonary disease: Can be the DRG-based diagnosis the best way for a right analysis? 2019-11-11T20:41:17+01:00 Antonello Nicolini antonellonicolini@gmail.com Giancarlo Garuti garutigica@libero.it Tommaso Perazzo chiccanene@libero.it Paolo Banfi pabanfi56@gmail.com Enrico Clini enrico.clini@unimore.it <p>Not available</p> 2019-09-06T16:32:48+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement##